Flurry

As always this time of year is a flurry of activity.  I have been a busy bee for the last couple of weeks, checking things off my ever growing To Do list.  I have been using Google Tasks for a couple of months now.  I like it a lot, especially because I can use it from my iPhone too.

I woke up last night to get ready for work and I noticed that light flurries were dusting the ground with a fine white powder.  It looked quite pretty especially since it wasn’t really accumulating.  I honestly don’t mind winter too much.  It’s just when things get messy, wet and icy that it starts to become a drag.

After work I went straight to the gym.  I wanted to run outside, but I didn’t bring the proper clothing.  I felt a little indecisive anyway and figured the gym would provide more options.  I would love to design a fitness plan to start off the new year.  I have been training for a race since last May and I am starting to incorporate other forms of exercise to try to change it up a bit.  Today I did 60 minutes on the Arc Trainer and some upper body strength training.

Oh I did bring my computer to a couple of technicians and the optical drive is shot.  I was concerned that I did something to cause it but was told that this piece of hardware on the MacBook is just crap, not their best work.  It fails eventually especially with increased use.  So essentially I didn’t do anything it just bit the dust on its own.   It will cost about $250 to replace the optical drive but I could go with an external for less than $100.  I will probably do the external, but I don’t know what to look for.  I just started my research.  Hopefully I will figure it out soon.

Tonight after dinner we did something totally different.  We went up to the town commons for a coffee and a treat for the little guy.  There was live music at the cafe and Carlos was thrilled.  He loves music and sat as still as a three year old can sit for about 45 minutes.  After that we walked around the commons to see the Christmas lights.  It was cold out but with coats and mittens we didn’t feel a thing!

I’m going to nap for about an hour now before getting ready for work.  I work tonight and then I’m off tomorrow night only before working another three nights in a row.  I don’t mind though.  I work with a great group of women who make work an enjoyable place to go.  Tonight I’m bringing baby carrots and lemon hummus to snack on.  Other than that I might nibble a graham cracker or two and drink coffee.

I hear that we are getting more than a flurry tomorrow.  Fingers crossed that it is just another meteorological lie!

Leave a Reply

